Classical Discoveries

with Marvin Rosen

Goes Rock and Roll

Composer Piece Ensemble/
Conductor Soloist/
Lennon/McCartney All You Need is Love The Schola Musica, Martin Dagenais, conductor Disques XXI-21 5:30
Costello, Elvis Act 1 from the Ballet, "Il Sogno" London Symphony Orchestra, Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor Deutsche Grammophon - 5:37
O'Connor, Mark "Hello, I'm Johnny Cash" from Trio no. 1, "Poets and Prophets" Eroica Trio Emi Classics - 5:51
Harvy, Richard & Taylor, Graeme Touch and Go Gryphon Talking Elephant - 6:00
Kernis, Aaron Jay Meditation (iin memory of John Lennon) Michael Finckel, Cello, Aaron Jay Kernis, Piano Phoenix - 6:03
Clapton, Eric Tears in Heaven Die Singphoniker CPO - 6:15
Corigliano, John Mr. Tambourine Man:Seven Poems of Bob Dylan Hila Plitman, Amplified soprano, Buffalo Philharmonic, JoAnn Falletta, conductor Naxos - 6:22
Lennon/McCartney Lady Madonna Les Boreades Atma - 7:01
McCartney, Paul Spiral London symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Foster, conductor Emi Classics - 7:04
Wonder, Stevie Sir Duke Harmonic Brass Hanssler Classics - 7:16
Byron, Don #3 From Four thoughts on Marvin Gaye Ethel Cantaloupe - 7:19
Lord, Jon (Deep Purple) Boom of the Tingling Strings Nelson Goerner, Piano, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Paul Mann, Conductor Emi Classics - 7:23
Joel, Billy Invention Number 1 Richard Joo, Piano Sony Classical - 8:01
Daugherty, Michael Dead Elvis Martin Kuuskmann, Bassoon, Absolute Ensemble CC n'C - 8:03
Jones, Jon Paul (Led Zepplin) No Dormia Red Byrd Factory Classical - 8:12
Jackson, Michael Smooth Criminal 2Cellos Masterworks - 8:20
Yoshimatsu, Takashi Atom Hearts Club Suite No. 1, Op. 70b BBC Philharmonic, Sachio Fujioka, Conductor Chandos - 8:26
Slick, Grace White Rabbit The Tango Project Newport Classic - 8:39
Emerson, Keith Piano concerto Number 1 Keith Emerson, Piano, London Philharmonic Orchestra, John Mayer, Conductor Rhino Records - 8:45
Gerhard, Lisa & Claxton, Andrew (Dead Can Dance) Sanvean Dead Can Dance Warner Bros. Records - 9:05
Warshauer, Meira Yes! (inspired by a Rolling Stones Concert) Richard Stoltzman, Clarinet, Warsaw National Philharmonic, Jerzy Swoboda, Conductor MMC Recordings - 9:10
The Rolling Stones Paint It Black The Hampton Rock String Quartet Mona Lisa Sound Studios - 9:18
Lennon/McCartney, arr. Louis Andriessen Yesterday//Michelle//Ticket To Ride Cathy Berberian, Voice, Bruno Canino, Piano Aura - 9:23
Guns n' Roses Welcome to the Jungle 2Cellos Masterworks - 9:32
Reese, Mona Lyn "Prince" from "Midwest Symphony" Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra, Vladimir Valek, conductor MMC Recordings - 9:36
Beach Boys California Girls The Hampton String Quartet Mona Lisa Sound Studios - 9:43
Elias, Jonathan Benediction from "The Prayer Cycle" Linda Ronstadt, voice, The American Boychoir, English chamber Orchestra and Chorus, Lawrence Schwartz, Conductor Sony Classical - 9:47
Lady Gaga Poker Face Keve Wilson, Oboe and Instrumental Ensemble Composers Concordance Records - 9:57
Steppenwolf/arr. David Lang Born to Be Wild Andrew Russo, Performer Endeavour Classics - 10:01
Glass, Philip Heroes Symphony (Based on David Bowie and Brian Eno) The American Composers Orchestra, Michael Riesman, conductor Philips - 10:06
Bjork Hyperballad Bjork, Brodsky Quartet Teldec - 10:51
Coldplay Viva La Vida 2Cellos Sony Classical - 10:56